Fragments of Pain

Life has passed me by
Again
I’m sure it’s happened before
In another non-life
Another time
Another incarnation
Where I sat
On the sidelines
And watched
Others
Live

************

From behind my little gate
I watch others
Take out their lives
For an airing
For a walk
A little strut
Around the neighbourhood
“Look at me” they say
“I’m hot!”
“Pick me!”
“For a spot”
“In your”
“Life”

*************
No one sees me
I do not exist
Except
Inside
Of me
So
If I left
Who would know?
Or care?
The world
Would
Continue
As I rot
And dissolve
Into
Ashes
Again

**********
Trying
To find
The words
To turn
This lump
In
My
Throat
To
Translate
The pain
In my heart
Into
Poetry

 

Copyright Dec 2012

Leave a Reply

