The Silent Knight

At first I thought you were a knight

As you came riding into sight

You sat upon your horse so still

Your silence nearly sapped my will

 

You gazed at me with eyes so blue

I felt as if you really knew

When my heart skipped a beat and still

Your silence nearly sapped my will

 

You knelt upon the grass so green

A gallant sight I’d never seen

Beseeched me with your eyes until

Your silence nearly sapped my will

 

You’ve been dead now for forty years

And I have shed all of my tears

Of sorrow now I’ve had my fill

Your silence has now sapped my will

 

Copyright Dec 2012

Leave a Reply

