Mum is Me

She lives a life

Within the walls

Of a rented house

She lives a life

Contained within

The lives of three young children

When weekend comes

She lets herself

Out

She flirts with all her husband’s friends

The braying laugh

Forced out with desperate joy

Echoes along the streets

I’m here

I’m me

I’m not just her

The drudge

The Mum

The quiet one

Please notice me

So I can see

That there is life

Beyond these walls

Beyond my roles

Beyond me

 

Copyright Dec 2012

2 thoughts on “Mum is Me

Leave a Reply

