Cyclonic Feet

Another birthday has just passed

I can still get my feet in the sink

I had to dislocate my mind

To gain the dexterity

For my feet

To reach so high

 

Walking in the garden

After the cyclone passes

My feet become too dirty

For the sweaty house

Tiptoeing to the sink

Towel in hand

I balance

First on one foot

Then the other

I scrub

Wobblingly

 

The cyclone has gone

Pouring water on those further south

Rivers flood north and south of here

Our garden is full of debris

Gum tree debris

Our banana is folded in half

But

I can still put my feet in the sink

I’m not dead yet

 

Copyright Jan 2013

Leave a Reply

