I am Made Uneasy

All day I’ve had the feeling

It won’t go away

Of being pushed

Into thoughts

Feelings

Beliefs?

Which don’t sit well

With mine

I am made uneasy

And it is ANZAC Day

Australians and

New Zealanders

Stop

To

Think

About the diggers

Who died

At Gallipoli

In 1915

I have been to Gallipoli

A place

So sad

The birds

Do not sing

It’s silence

Made me

Want to run

Away

Ghosts

Do not

Play here

They sit

In silent fear

Of war

They made my fellow travellers

A boisterous bunch

Shut up

Yet

We still fight

Nearly 100 yrs on

We

Have not

Learned

A thing

Children march

For dead

Great grandparents

Grandparents

Dads

Mums

From every war

Since then

Justified

Or not

Jingoism abounds

Threatens

I am made uneasy

By the savagery

Of war

The march

Is no longer

For the

Diggers

So who is it for??

I am made

Uneasy

 

 

 

Copyright April 2013

 

Leave a Reply

