Pondering on Gene Therapy

One day we’ll be able to splice new genes, create ourselves anew from building blocks designed to eradicate bad traits and increase the good.  On that day I wonder if I’ll be first in line. To get rid of fat genes or the stray hair on the face gene, definitely anxiety and depression.  Will I really put my hand up to Dr. Frankenstein myself???

I don’t know.

Maybe I could just tweak my genes a little, a slight adjustment so that when good things happen I’m happy. You’d think it would be a no-brainer: Good things = happiness. Sadly this isn’t always so.

A couple of days ago I learned that my very first story submission had been accepted. I was going to be published!! I should have been over the moon, and I was, for about five minutes and then the dreaded anxiety fairy arrived. What if they’d made a mistake? Got me mixed up with someone else? A better writer?  The wheels of dread worked overtime and by the end of the day I was in tears expecting an email of apology. Of course this didn’t happen and the next day on their website my name was amongst the list of successful applicants. By then all chance of joy had gone.

Now I’m dreading the editing. What if I do it all wrong??

Maybe I could get that gene therapy before anymore writing has to be done. Perhaps then I’ll be able to cheer myself on when good things happen.

Perhaps!

Copyright May 2013

4 thoughts on “Pondering on Gene Therapy

    • Thank you for encouraging me! Even though I live in an anxiety ridden little world of my own making I do still manage to force myself to do things, at my own pace.

Leave a Reply

