I Remain Blind

Advent Poems Day Fifteen

 

 

I am blind

To the everyday

I see grand schemes

Dancing on sweet

Unattainable horizons

 

Whilst dust collects in corners

I blithely dodge raindrops

Bake pies in my skies

 

Mud collects on doorsteps

I float above the dishes and the washing line

My bed remains unkempt

As does my hair

 

I shop for chocolates and cherries

Mangos, peaches and apricots

 

I know I should get out the gloves

The micro fibre cloths

And the Jif

Loosen arthritic elbows

De-grease the kitchen doors

 

But the sun doth shine

The fan doth swirl

 

Cricket on TV lulls me

Into Summer Dream Time

I remain blind

To dirt and grime

 

 

Copyright December 2013

Leave a Reply

