Translations/Traductions

Watch the mouth move

All the subtle shapes and moues

The teeth

The tongue

The lips

The wagging of the chin

Words are spoken

 

Like an alien deaf to nuances

Fascinated by the communication process

Of a whole new species

I do not take in

The meanings of these words

The subtleties of things unspoken

Those cultural pauses

And deficits

Facial tics

That need investigating

 

If I should ever ascertain what you mean to me

If I should ever hear

Beyond the literalcy

Of the words

Being spoken

If I should ever

Feel the translations

Instinctively

From you

Direct

To me

 

 

Suivre le mouvement de la bouche
Toutes les formes et les moues subtiles
les dents
la langue
les lèvres
Le remue du menton
Les mots sont parlées

Comme un sourd étranger aux nuances
Fasciné par le processus de communication
D’une toute nouvelle espèce
Je ne prends pas en
La signification de ces mots
Les subtilités de non-dits
Ces pauses culturelles
et les déficits
tics faciaux
Cette nécessité de l’enquête

Si je dois jamais savoir ce que vous voulez dire à moi
Si je dois jamais entendre
Au-delà de la literalcy
Des mots
étant parlée
Si je devrais jamais
Sentez-vous les traductions
instinctivement
De vous
direct
pour moi

 

 

Copyright February 2014

Leave a Reply

