Fated

Those wretched Fates

Have tangled all my threads

Colours all in knots

Which one should I cut?

Perhaps I should simply sever them all

 

If I could only find one end and pull

I could knit myself together

In complicated stitches

Pattern currently unknown

 

Unravelling in public is not all fun

No handsome stranger offers to help me unwind

No one in a white coat comes to take me away before

Stuffing all my fraying strands into a straitjacket for safety

I merely keep on unravelling unnoticed

 

Until I find myself holding a cut end

Realise that this is all that’s left of my fate

And I’ve lost my knitting needles anyway

 

 

Copyright October 2014

Leave a Reply

