VIRUS

the old man wheezing in my chest seems to have calmed

perhaps he is asleep

my body has been valiantly trying to cough him up for two weeks now

in revenge for the difficult sleeping arrangements

he prattles on and on depriving me of mine

until I fantasise about conducting a living autopsy on myself

lying in bed propped up by pillows

he laughs and laughs as I debate the relative cutting values of a plastic coated paring knife versus a Japanese ceramic slicer

perhaps that’s why he’s finally fallen asleep

worn out with preventing the suicidal intentions of an unwilling host

as he lightly snores I smile a weary smile

one night soon he will surely die in our sleep

 

Copyright October 2014

2 thoughts on “VIRUS

Leave a Reply

