Asperger’s????????

Anyone who reads this blog on a regular basis {and a big thanks to those who do!!} will have noticed I have been anything but regular with my posts this year. Living with depression has its ups and downs and this year there have been many downs. Frustration sets in and devours my creativity which in turn creates more frustration. I even cancelled my Twitter account and disappeared for a few weeks, only to begin a new account because I missed chatting to so many people.

Note: If you wish to talk with me or to read my tiny poems, tiny stories and tiny haiku my new account is @iwasaplatypus

To add to this year’s story a few weeks back whilst reading the ABC news I came across an article on middle-aged women being diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome. It seems that girls with Asperger’s have been better than boys with Asperger’s at pretending to be human and have therefore slipped under the diagnosis radar. As these women talked about themselves an alarm bell rang in the back of my mind – they sounded exactly like me.

After a couple of days of brooding I visited an Asperger’s site and found a description of the commonalities of women with Asperger’s. It was like the author knew me! Things, attributes, of mine which I had never talked about, barely admitted, were linked together.

To cut a long story short, I visited my Doctor {who I admit I was hesitant to approach} and he believes I am correct in my self-diagnosis. Later this week I will see a Psychiatrist for an expert opinion and hopefully, some advice.

I am amazed.

I am scared.

I am excited.

I am frightened.

I am writing this because my world has shifted on it’s axis. I am what I am and at the same time I am not what I thought I was.

Still me.

 

Copyright June 2015

6 thoughts on “Asperger’s????????

  1. This just happened to me no more than a couple of months ago! So weird feeling! You can check out my blog, that’s why I started blogging–coping with this new discovery in myself… Hang in there, you do start to get used to it and then you watch your world start to make sense in a different way. It’s strange to find out, but really relieving in a lot of ways. You’re not alone!

  2. My son was diagnosed with Asperger’s when he was 3 and after the initial shock/fear/guilt you realize there are so many worse afflictions that people have to deal with and you move on and play the cards you are dealt.. I truly believe that so many mega creative people have some form of Asperger’s/Autism and unknowingly channel their art as therapy.. At least now you know

    • Hey Steve….I have to agree with you…of course! I hope your son is doing well. When you don’t really fit in you see quite a lot from the peripheries. That is what probably hones the creativity. Anyway, I want to know my label, which is strange really as I’ve always hated being put in a box. Maybe I will just forgive me for being me in the past…..

    • Thanks Bjorn. I haven’t written the follow up yet where the Psychiatrist tells me that other psychiatric disorders can have the same outer symptoms as Asperger’s…….I need more shrinking before he can tell…….it’s a very stressful and strangely calming time of my life at the moment.

Leave a Reply

