Poem For Lynn

my cousin Lynn

asked me to write a poem

about herself

and Lenin

and Daisy

and Duke

 

Lynn and Lenin and Daisy and Duke

live in a lovely looking house in Ireland

it looks even lovelier with snow on it

but cold

like in a fairytale Lynn followed Lenin

to the end of the rainbow

has she found gold?

Daisy might know

tabbies are smart when it comes to comforts

 

one day Duke went missing and Lynn was upset

he came back with his own story to tell

probably swaggering, as men tend to do

all I can say is

{from the photos}

there are lots of exploring opportunities for cats

 

the last time I saw Lynn I said goodbye

this was nearly thirty years ago

and just before I took the train from Crewe to Heathrow

she was probably glad to see the back of me really

I shared her bedroom on and off for six months

just when she thought she had it all to herself

in I galumphed from half a world away

to take up space

with all my different thoughts

and now she wants me to write a poem

I told her it wouldn’t rhyme

and it doesn’t

 

 

 

Copyright March 2016

 

Leave a Reply

