The Writer

I’m sure the paper swallows words

would it be better if I tapped tapped tapped

a raven at the keyboard

 

once I wished to be immortal

to be present in future history

but now I sigh at patterns repeated

and have no wish to suffer from episodic ennui

 

how many times I have written

words which cannot express

the complications roiling within

 

since when did falling for a time

negate the years of flying high

am I a loser if I lose my mind

what is a loser anyway

but a winner in disguise

 

I’m afraid I either am or I am not

does not apply to me

for I am winner loser all entwined

 

if a writer is someone who writes

 

 

Copyright March 2016

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

