Poems Written Whilst Watching Hull Versus Arsenal


 

 

I’d like to trade me in

for something old and withered

a fruit way past it’s prime

 

the floral stench of times gone by

shall ooze from my skin

a perfume redolent of sorrow

 

 


 

 

I’m a derivative fool

http://www.ivewrittenthisbefore

inohsomanyways

.com.au

poetry online

 

 


 

 

if i ate miso soup

would I write haiku

like a native

 

 


 

 

 

under pressure

now that arsenal have scored

I write the poetry of football

a game of angles and halves

and temperamental overpaid feet

it calls to me with mathematical guile

a seduction in grass and leather

the simplicity of the offside rule

 

 


 

 

Copyright September 2016

Leave a Reply

