Mo{u}rning

 

it happened by accident

I woke up again this morning

a biologic imperative, they say

one day, of course, it won’t happen

by accident, or otherwise

and I will never know

 

clouds and doonas and other fluffy things

analogies to blanket out despair

{or perhaps find a place for despair to rest}

bigger reality hits me over the head

my reality takes quite a time to kick in

on these grey, disturbing, nothing days

 

how can I hope to explain

that Oh Shit! feeling, I’m still here

to people who feel their purpose in their bones

I have so much to do but most of it seems

even the voices in my head are still asleep

when they wake I’ll beg them to re-wire my brain

 

 

Copyright May 2017

Leave a Reply

